St Mark's Church modern stained glass window inscribed To the Glory of God

This page has specific information about Handley Church, its history and some details about Handley-Stretton parish. For services, activities, events, contacts and directions, please follow the links above.

St Mark's Church Handley Handley Church History

Until 1970 the building for St Mark's Church was the village school and many of the current congregation have memories of schooldays there.

It was originally named St Mark’s School Church and was founded in 1869 by the Rev J Oldham B.D., first vicar of the Parish of Clay Cross, in the year before Fosters Elementary Education Act made state education compulsory. The site was given by Gladwin Turbutt Esq. Of Ogston Hall and the school was opened on Easter Monday, April 18th, 1870. The cost of the school/church was £317 1s 6d. The foundation stone is inscribed St. Mark’s School Church Handley – God be praised! It was laid on April 26th, 1869.

The building is now a cosy church with modern stained glass and comfortable seating which can easily be rearranged to suit the various social events.

Outside the church, a sensory garden has been established and even boasts a statue of a lion, the lion being the emblem of St Mark.

The friendly congregation are especially pleased to welcome the Stretton-Handley school children, and their teachers and parents, to regular "grape and wafer" church services and there is a monthly family service which includes activities and games for children.

The children helped create The Woolley Moor Trail which has much interesting detail on the village.